After More Than $4.4 Million In TV Ads, Republicans’ State House Majority Holds

MCFN Tracked More Than 15,000 Ad Spots In The Fight For Control Of The Michigan House



Democrats and Republicans combined to spend more than $4.4 million on broadcast TV ads aimed at swaying state House races this fall, according to ad-tracking data and disclosures available as of Tuesday evening, Nov. 8.

After all of that spending, Michigan Republicans held the 63-seat majority they won two years ago in the November 2014 election.

Two seats changed hands on Tuesday. Republicans flipped a seat held by Rep. Bill LaVoy (D-Monroe) while Democratic candidate Darrin Camilleri, of Brownstown, flipped an open seat in the 23rd District that was previously held by Republicans.

The $4.4 million ad-spending total is based on the Michigan Campaign Finance Network’s analysis of Kantar Media ad-tracking data through Monday, Nov. 7, and Federal Communications Commission filings through Tuesday, Nov. 8.

MCFN tracked more than 15,000 ad spots in the state House races. The map below shows the races that were subjects of broadcast ads, how much was spent on them and who ran the ads. The map is a joint effort of MCFN and MiDataLabs.


The $4.4-million total, which doesn’t include local cable ads, will likely increase as more data and disclosures become available.

Of the $4.4 million in spending, the two sides spent almost the same amount on broadcast ads.

Democratic candidates, the House Democratic Fund and the Michigan Democratic State Central Committee aired about $2.17 million in broadcast ads.

GOP candidates, the House Republican Campaign Committee, the Michigan Republican Party and Gov. Rick Snyder’s nonprofit, Making Government Accountable, combined to run about $2.22 million in broadcast ads.

The districts receiving the most broadcast ads were the following: the 91st House District (about $667,000 in ads); the 61st House District (about $601,000 in ads); and the 62nd House District (about $527,000 in ads).

In all three seats, Republican incumbents won re-election. In the 91st, Rep. Holly Hughes (R-Montague) won. In the 61st, Rep. Brandt Iden (R-Oshtemo Twp.) won. In the 62nd, Rep. John Bizon (R-Battle Creek) won.

2016 News Press Release Fundraising